Contour Line Drawings by Heather

b1
“Nathan” contour drawing
b2
“J.J. contour drawing”
b3
“John” contour drawing

Contour line drawings is a technique in which the artist looks closely at the subject and uses a continuous line to create the drawing, only looking after the drawing is finished. I really used to love doing these contour line drawings in our 4-H art club as a kid. My favorite part was when they turned out funny or accidentally exaggerated something about the subject that was unexpected and you end up laughing so hard your soda comes out of your nose. I did these quick drawings of my students the other day in class right before holiday break; they loved posing for the quick drawings and then quickly snatched the finished drawing, running around the room laughing and saying “I look like an old man,” or “omg, that’s totally your hair, John!” I love contour drawings because they really keep the self critic at bay until the drawing is finished, and they sometimes capture the personality of the subject in a way that is very unique. I’m also including a contour drawing I did in high school “let sleeping dogs lie.”

dogs

Leave a Reply

